S&T#281 In Country: The Vietnam War
Errata as of Nov 11th, 2013
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?8@@.1dd74f32
Joseph Miranda - May 14, 2013 2:37 pm (#55 Total: 186)
>Phnom Penh has a VP value of 0
Should be "4".
>And, for maximum attack supply, the rules just say
you have to be within 6 hexes of a supply unit. So this implies that ZOCs do
not affect tracing maximum attack supply to a supply unit, right?
Correct.
The position of the supply units represent a center of operations for communist
logistics, so I gave the rule some leeway.
Terrain Effects Chart (clarification): The VP value of Allied main base hexes is within the star.
Joseph Miranda - Jun 4, 2013 6:16 pm (#122 Total: 186)
>The Tet scenario has firebases apparently set up in cities. One with the 26th Marine Rgt. in Khe Sanh and one with the ROK troops in a coastal city. Rule 19.2 states firebases cannot be placed in cities or main base hexes.
Change 19.2 so they can set up in cities.
>Also the campaign set up puts an NVA Garrison in hex 1732 (An Khe). Should there be a Communist Main Base in the Hex for this scenario?
There is no An Khe on the map as printed, so ignore this.
Joseph Miranda - Jun 7, 2013 10:53 pm (#124 Total: 186)
>PS: in 34.2 campaign game set up it says to place
Allied units that are indicated with 'start, II December' as well as those indicated
in the year of White Horse scenario. Does this mean any Allied unit with 1965
as an entry date or something else?
Yes, up to the start date of the scenario.
Joseph Miranda - Jun 9, 2013 1:25 am (#129 Total: 186)
>9.7 says lines of supply may not be traced into or
through an enemy ZOC unless occupied by a friendly unit. 16.2 says line of supply
may be traced through ANY hex, even ones occupied by one or more allied units.
Which is correct?
They may be traced through any hex.
>Sequence of play: I. b says to flip suppressed units
to their combat effective side. Units don't flip for suppression.
Remove the Suppression marker.
>Also, I. g says to remove suppression markers from
all communist units, but a later rule says that communist units in an allied
ZOC do not become unsuppressed.
Do not remove them if in an Allied ZOC. And remember, heavy unit ZOCs do not
extend into various terrain types.
Bleddyn Hancock - Jun 10, 2013 3:31 pm (#130 Total: 186)
Siege
Rule 6.8 states that: An entry hex is.. under siege whenever one or more enemy mobile units is/are...adjacent to it. Does the unit have to be face up to show it is a mobile unit? Can dummy be units be used to place a hex "under siege"? Nothing new in Moves Online since March. Any news when the In Country optionals will be posted? Thanks
Joseph Miranda - Jun 10, 2013 7:47 pm (#131 Total: 186)
>Rule 6.8 states that: An entry hex is.. under siege
whenever one or more enemy mobile units is/are...adjacent to it. Does the unit
have to be face up to show it is a mobile unit?
Yes.
COMMUNIST UNDERGROUND
1. Communist guerilla units can be temporarily removed from the map. This is
called Going Underground. Underground units may Resurface later in the game.
Units may go underground during the Reorganization Phase, or in place of a retreat
combat result.
2. Procedure. During an Reorganization Phase, the Communist player may remove
any VC infantry and dummy unit from the map. Place them in the box corresponding
to the name of its region. On any subsequent Reinforcement Phase, the unit may
be returned to the map on any hex of the same which does not contain enemy units,
prohibited terrain or ZOC.
3. Retreats. VC infantry which receive any kind of retreat result in combats
where all Allied units have UW strengths lower than that of the VC unit may
go underground instead. Remove such units from the map and place them in the
Underground box. If any Allied unit has an UW strength equal to or greater than
that of such VC units, they must retreat normally. Cadres and SOGs may be utilized
to give a +1 bonus by either side, with the Communist declaring first and then
the Allied player.
4. Suppressed units may go underground but they may not attempt Refit until
they once again are placed on the map.
5. Movement. Infantry units in the Underground box may not move. Vietnamese
cadres may move from their Underground box to a box representing an adjoining
region (but not across the border to Laos or Cambodia. This consumes their entire
movement.
6. Initial Deployment. Qualified units may be initially placed in an Underground
box.
7. Victory Points. They do not count for Communist VP for units in a region,
corps zone or country, nor do they dispute Allied VP. They are effectively non-existent
for Victory purposes.
COMMUNIST CADRES
1. In the full simulation rules, Communist Cadres are placed in the Underground
box instead of the Available box. When the communist player wants to use a Cadre,
he takes it from the Underground box and uses it anywhere in the same region.
For ex: a VC Cadre in the B-1 Front box may be used anywhere in the B-1 Front
on the map.
2. The Communist player places starting Cadres in any region box of the same
country. When a Cadre is placed on the map as a reinforcement or via the URT,
the Communist player can place it in any region box of its own nationality.
3. Note that this rule does not apply to Allied SOGs.
COMMUNIST VC MAIN FORCE CONVERSION
The Communist player may convert combat effective VC regiments to NVA regiments.
This is done during the Communist Reorganization Phase. The VC regiment must
be in an un-besieged Communist base hex. Remove the VC regiment and replace
it with a NVA regiment of the same strength. NVA regiments may never be converted
back to VC status. The VC regiment is returned to the pool of potential Communist
reinforcements.
DESTROYING COMMUNIST BASES
1. The Allied player may destroy a printed Communist Base.
2. Ground occupation. At the end of any Allied combat phase in which any Allied
ground units occupy a Communist base hex, roll one die. On a g5 or 6h the printed
base is destroyed. Place a destroyed marker as a mnemonic.
3. When a base is destroyed, remove any Communist Garrison marker in it. Destroyed
bases provide no supply or other enhancements to Communist forces. Treat the
hex as other terrain.
4. Rebuilding. The Communist player can rebuild a Base hex in the Communist
Reinforcement, Reorganization and Refitting phase by occupying it with a mobile
unit which can trace a LOS to a Communist supply unit. Expend the Supply unit
and remove the destroyed marker. Also, place a Communist garrison unit in the
hex.
Scenarios: Ignore references to An Khe (hex 1732). It is not on the map.
>I'm assuming that VP awards noted as "VP Phase"
are awarded EACH VP phase in which the condition is met? In other words, if
there are no Communist mobile units in 1 Corps in the VP Phase of Turns 2, 3
and 4 of a scenario, the Allied player would be awarded 15 PVPs?
Each VP phase.
Results
If Communists are attacking:
AE1: One attacking Cadre is placed in the Permanently Eliminated box.
DS1: One defending static unit is Suppressed; attacker gains one Political Point.
DS2: One defending static unit is Suppressed; attacker gains two Political Points.
If Allies are attacking:
AS: One attacking SOG is placed in the Permanently Eliminated box.
DS1: Eliminate one underground Communist Cadre in the targeted region.
DS2: Eliminate two underground Communist Cadres in the targeted region.
>Can Communist regiments attack in armed propaganda
comparing their UW rating to that of the static unit/garrison? Are Cadres necessary
in this situation?
Cadres are needed.
>Is it the case that the number of cadres is compared
to the UW rating of the static unit?
Yes.
Joseph Miranda - Oct 24, 2013 8:55 pm (#189 Total: 193)
>1.Does a heavy unit extend it's ZOC into a CITY containing US garrsion unit?
(I think they don't.)
No.
>2.Light units ALWAYS extend their ZOC into a city and/or a base hex. Is it correct?
Correct.
>3. Now you can place firebases in cities. Can SF Camps be placed in cities as well (and with friendly garrisons)?
No (to SF Camps).
>US fire base and SF camps: Once you place them on the map, you are unable to move or relocate them unless they are eliminated as a result of combat, to replace though Refit process. Is it correct?
Correct. We have an optional rule somewhere allowing helicopters to relocate them via transport.